Twenty-five Days of Christmas Cheer: December 11th (The Christmas Truce)

As I sit here staring bleary-eyed at the screen, I sip my coffee and wonder why I decided it would be a good idea to start re-watching season two of Downton Abbey yesterday. I should have known that I would watch the whole season, or very nearly. It’s nearly impossible for me to watch only one episode. I didn’t end up finishing it; at 1:15 this morning I realized I’d better not watch episode seven. Now I’m awake and positively exhausted. But watching that last night gave me my topic for today’s post: Christmas during World War I.

Granted, I don’t have tons of history to share with you. I specifically want to share with you the story of the Christmas Truce in 1914. Now, I’m not a pacifist, but I look at so much of history (especially the wars in the last 100 years) and wish things had been accomplished without so much fighting, even though in most cases it was necessary. I know I’m not alone. At any rate, as a history buff and Christmas lover, I love the story of the Christmas Truce.

I won’t try to share it all right here, but here is a link that will give you a good article on the full story: firstworldwar.com

I encourage you to read it. There is also a folk song called “Christmas in the Trenches” that I have loved for many years that tells the story in a rather tear-jerking manner. Yes, maybe the tale has been romanticized over the last 98 years, but the point is that sometimes…we don’t need to fight.

************************************************

Yes, this is a short post, but it would have been much, much longer had I chosen to write out the whole story of the Truce. And this way, you’ll be able to read the story without my commentary! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

