Twenty-five Days of Christmas Cheer: December 10th (My Favorite Christmas Songs)

We got around 3 inches of snow yesterday, I think. It looks lovely outside. It’s supposed to get warmer in a couple of days…I hope and pray that it does not. I would really like the snow to stay. Yesterday turned out to be a wonderful day, actually. The German Christmas service was beautiful, even though I didn’t understand the sermon. The church it was at had recently had a new pipe organ installed, and it was absolutely heavenly. Perfect sound, filling the sanctuary. I will never understand why people prefer guitar, keyboard, and drums to a pipe organ. They cannot even compare.

Anyway, today I am going to write about my favorite Christmas songs; I say songs, not carols, because a) I already did that list, and b) the songs are the secular ones. I’ve mentioned in previous posts how much I dislike the modern songs, but I do have a few secular songs that I like to hear and sing at this time of year. These are in no particular order.

1. “Santa Claus is Coming to Town”

(Only certain recordings…but it’s a fun song!)

2. “Let it Snow”

(This really doesn’t even have to be only a Christmas song. I mean, let’s face it…we’re more likely to get snow in January and February than in December.)

3. “Have a Holly Jolly Christmas”

(Gotta love Burl Ives and the old Rudolph film! Actually, I like all the songs in that film.)

4. “Silver Bells”

(There’s just something neat about this song.)

5. “White Christmas”

(Okay, this should be at the top of the list, but oh well. I adore this song! Especially when Bing Crosby is singing it.)

6. “Frosty the Snowman”

(Who doesn’t love this song??)

7. “Snoopy’s Christmas”

(I always get super excited when this comes on the radio!)

8. “Twelve Days of Christmas”

(Always fun, especially when caroling.)

9. “Winter Wonderland”

(Again, doesn’t really have to be only a Christmas song.)

10. “Sleigh Ride”

(Since I always liked sleigh rides, this song is definitely a favorite.)

 

Well, there is a list of ten of the secular songs that I like. There are a few more, like “Deck the Halls.” But honestly, this list couldn’t be much longer. Do you have any particular favorites?

Leave a Reply

