Twenty-five Days of Christmas Cheer: December 5th (Holiday Indulgences)

Twenty days til Christmas, everybody!! Woot!!

Seriously though. That’s not much time to do everything I want to do. I gotta start getting up earlier.

Today, I want to write about holiday indulgences. We all have them. There’s nothing wrong with that. During the holiday season we feel more inclined to give gifts to others, but also to ourselves. Some indulgences may be small, like a new eyeshadow color, and others may be big, like that awesome new tablet you scored at the Black Friday sale. (I hate Black Friday, but hey, if it’s your thing, go for it!) I don’t think I have all that many indulgences at this time of the year, though I bake more and thus eat (a lot) more sugar. Here is my list of small things I allow myself to indulge in during the month of December and occasionally into January:

1. Peppermint Mocha creamer. This used to only be available at Christmastime, so I’d beg Mom to buy at least four bottles of it. Now it’s available year-round, but since I generally drink my coffee black, it stays as an indulgence.

2. Frequent trips to Starbucks or other coffee shops. This hasn’t happened yet this December, but when I do my Christmas shopping, I like to buy something to keep my hands and body warm. Granted, it hasn’t really been cold enough yet…

3. A new Christmas outfit, makeup, and jewelry. This is only if I can even find something I like, which doesn’t happen much anymore. (Tangent: Once I lose the weight I’m hoping to lose, I will probably begin sewing more of my clothes. I hate most of what’s out there today and what I do like is either too expensive or just simply not for everyday wear.) And I adore Christmas jewelry.

I guess that’s really all I can think of at the moment. I was going to add that I don’t clean the house as much, but honestly, I feel more like cleaning it at this time of the year than any other! Odd.

Anyway, our tree is up, so I must put on the lights. Provided they work. Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

