born into a specific season

As soon as the outdoor temperature drops below 50 degrees, I instantly start wishing for snow. I think about snow and cold winter days all summer long. Clearly, winter is my favorite season. People think I am crazy because I love the cold. But I have never enjoyed summer all that much. I would much rather be bundled up in layers of clothing than wearing next to nothing. I prefer steaming hot drinks to ice cold ones. And a gentle snowfall is one of the most beautiful sights in the entire world.

I also adore autumn, of course. The leaves changing color on all the trees is yet another of the most beautiful sights in the entire world. Growing up on the plains of central Illinois, I didn’t often see forests of trees turned golden, and I would drink in the sight when I could. We had some trees, of course, just not huge swathes of woods across the land. Here in eastern Wisconsin, it’s almost all trees. I could cry with the beauty of it. Nate and I often take leisure drives through the Kettle Moraine, and we’ve been driving around almost everyday in his dad’s 1976 Cutlass, looking at the leaves.

I could probably go on and talk about a few things I enjoy about spring and summer, too, but I wanted to make a point about something. I believe that the time of year a person is born into will have an impact on his or her life. No, not in an astrological way or anything. I just think that for a child, the season in which your birthday falls can have a profound effect on the way you feel, especially if you live in a part of the world where the seasons are so drastically different. I was born at the end of November. So many people say that November is a dull month, but as I’ve grown up, I’ve come to love it. Almost every year for as long as I can remember, we have had our first snow of the year on my birthday, November 29th. Being in Wisconsin now, it generally comes a bit earlier, but the point is that I feel I am somewhat programmed to adore snow and the cold. Of course, when one is born can have the opposite effect, as well. My sister was born five days before Christmas, and she always says that she much prefers summer and the warmer temps. Whereas she would gladly move to Hawaii, I would much rather move to Alaska, if it came down to a choice between the two. My husband was born on July 31st, and though I think he does like winter more, he also is quite able to appreciate everything about all four seasons, with the exception of early spring. That’s mainly because here in Wisconsin, most of spring is just MUD. He drives a truck for a living and he generally likes to keep it clean!

I’m very much ready for winter. The cold winds may blow and rain may come for the next month and a half, but I hope and pray very fervently that come December, there will be snow on our first anniversary (December 3rd), and that we will be able to snowmobile all winter long. Unlike last year, which was a disappointing winter all around.

Image

Leave a Reply

