Sunday Serenade

My husband and I share a love of music, especially instrumental/orchestral. Between the two of us we own an extensive collection of musical recordings on everything from vinyl to 8-tracks to my iPod. We also have quite a collection of musical instruments, including a piano, an electric organ, about 6 guitars, my violin, and his two trombones…yeah, you get the idea. There are more than that. Oh, we even have a gorgeous antique accordion that was his grandfather’s; upon doing some meagre research on the internet, we discovered that it is probably worth a LOT.

Anyway, music is a big part of our lives. We both play a number of instruments, and we both can sing rather well. Being Lutheran Christians, we also belong to a church where the hymns and liturgy are played on a gigantic pipe organ — none of that modern worship music for us. There isn’t much that can surpass a pipe organ, honestly.

All that being said, I have decided to begin a series on this blog that I will call “Sunday Serenade” where I will share one or two pieces of music that are favorites of ours, or just simply incredible pieces of music. Many times they will be religious, but not always.

Today I want to share with you a piece that has always been near and dear to my heart. It is a piece that my dad and I both love, and when I was younger, if it ever came on the radio (we had a classical station back home — I miss it so…), we turned up the volume quite high. (Side note: I credit my dad especially for bringing me up with such a sincere love of true music. My mom, too, but my dad especially!) This piece is called “The Moldau” in short. It was composed by Bedrich Smetana; it is a symphonic poem, and I think it could be considered a love poem of sorts to his homeland. It’s kind of long, but I think if you give it a listen, you may just fall in love with it like I did.

You’ll just have to find the video HERE because WordPress is being dumb. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

