Comfort Food: Creamy Onion Soup

Over the past week, I’ve been ill with some strange virus that basically weakened me till I couldn’t do much other than read a book or watch television. Even watching a screen was hard, because my vision was all messed up. I think that today I am finally over the worst of it because I’ve spent the whole morning cleaning up the kitchen and catching up on laundry.

The other day, I was feeling well enough to get up and do a few things, so I decided to make one of my favorite foods ever. Onion soup is seriously one of my comfort foods. I make it a lot. The recipe I use comes from The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook by Dinah Bucholz, which, by the way, is a pretty darn awesome cookbook. The soup is absolutely delicious. It’s smooth, not too oniony oddly enough, and just one steaming bowl is enough to fill up my stomach.

Here is the recipe as it is written in the cookbook (I usually double it since Nate and I both love soup so much).

~Creamy Onion Soup~

1/4 stick (2 tablespoons) butter

2 large onions, cut lengthwise and then sliced 1/8-inch thick (HINT: just chop them up small…)

4 cups chicken broth or 4 cups water and 4 teaspoons chicken-flavored soup and seasoning mix (I make my own broth with chicken bouillon and that hasn’t failed me yet)

Freshly ground black pepper

Salt

2 cups whole milk, divided (I use 2% because that’s what we buy)

1/3 cup flour

1. Heat the butter in a 4-quart pot. Add the onions to the pot, and cook over low heat until the onions are golden, about 30 minutes.

2. Add the chicken broth or the water and soup mix, along with salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let it simmer until the onions are very soft, about 30 minutes.

3. Combine 1/3 cup of the milk with the flour in a bowl and mix well, beating out the lumps with a whisk. Add this mixture slowly to the soup while stirring constantly. Cook, stirring frequently, until the mixture thickens. Add the rest of the milk and just heat through; do not boil.

*****************************************************

Supposedly, this recipe serves six people, but I really don’t believe that. Maybe if you only have small bowls…but small bowls of soup are just not my thing. The cookbook also recommends you serve this soup with Irish soda bread, which is fantastic, but any bread will work fine. Saltine crackers do, too.

Seeing as I’m attempting to be vegetarian (and somewhat vegan), I will probably try to modify this recipe to fit the requirements….though that might not work all that well. I think soy milk would work, as well as maybe using a vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth. As for the butter, I’m not sure. I suppose I’d just keep the butter.

This is a perfect recipe for a cold winter’s afternoon or evening. If you make it, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

